Shift happens

I have decided to let go of the idea of starting a PhD on the Fall of 2010. Somehow writing a paper during the month of June has given me insight into what I want to do; and the process has reminded me that academic writing is a skill that I have had dormant for the past three years. I want to be able to focus on the ideas and not get hung up on the writing, so by the time I decide to pursue a PhD I will be pretty confident about my writing skills.

I also read about doctoral studies at the Leadership as a Field of Study blog (I posted some info on Deliberate Practice) and have had very intentional conversations with PhD students.  Some people have said that hesitation and doubt is part of the process, most of them focus on their relationships with their advisors, their research topic, the commitment, etc.  But when I know deep inside that there is something missing, I need to be aware and thoughtful.

The next steps, before applying for a M. A. in Leadership Studies, are:

I also need to write more often!

One thought on “Shift happens

Leave a Reply

